beginner guitar

What are guitar strings made of? For technical questions about music and gear.

Moderators: Moderators Emeritus, Moderators

anthropomorphizing_kitty

beginner guitar

Postby anthropomorphizing_kitty » Sat Feb 14, 2004 8:06 am

Why is it that even though I've played guitar for about 6 years I still call myself a beginner? Spanish only took 2 years for god's sake. Anyway mostly I call myself a beginner because I still suck and I'm still too poor to buy decent equipment. My question, what is the best Stratocaster knock-off for a tight budget? I currently have a Squier tele which replaced my very first guitar which was a Peavey version of the strat. It played fine for my abilities but even as a beginner I realized it wouldn't stay in tune for crap. Any recommendations? I've noticed Squier and Kramer both have inexpensive strat-like-things.

Dez

Postby Dez » Sun Feb 15, 2004 3:52 am

I've fallen totally in love with the new Squier Custom Tele '72 rip-off. I played through it in the store an it sounded better than a G&L Tele and could almost keep up with a Gibson SG. It's fantastically inexpensive and I can't wait 'till I've bought one. First I'll have to check my piggy bank.

junkyardtodd

Postby junkyardtodd » Sun Feb 15, 2004 7:40 am

Yay! I get to be mr know-it-all again!
First, the squier Tele is probably not actually a bad guitar, for like $50you could fix it up, n have it sound great, n stay in tune-
First, get a new set of tuners (grover, gotoh or such-get 'em cheap, used, on EAY), (you can install them yourself-don't be scared) and good strings (i like GHS, but there's lot's of great options). If it still won't stay in tune, take it to yr friendly local guitar shop n get the intonation, action, n neck tension adjusted-this is a basic 'setup' n should not be too much money...
You might also want to replace the pickups (again, not too difficult, just be careful with Mr Soldering Iron!) Again, go to EBAY, look for Seymour Duncan, they rule.