Get some learnin' right here

A repository for everything else. Introductions, off-topic threads, testing and so on. When in doubt, post it here.

Moderators: Moderators Emeritus, Moderators

grant
wears the boots
Current Heading: West

Post by grant »

I rely mostly on updates from www.nature.com and the ongoing ruminations at the Barbelith Laboratory.
John
King God, Mang

Post by John »

There's the refinery that turns chicken guts into cooking oil.

And the news that the big-bang might really just be alternate dimensions bumping into each other.

And how the girl octopus didn't like the boy octopus at the Seattle aquarium.
the hutch

Post by the hutch »

damn i wish i had as much free time as y'all
Betty Felon

Post by Betty Felon »

I wish I was a scientist.

When people ask me what I do, I sometimes consider saying "Why, I'm a stellar astrophysicist."

I'm pretty sure the key to science is:

1.) dreaming up something very cool that you want to do (see thread: http://www.thelongwinters.com/board/viewtopic.php?t=667)
2.) putting on your whitest lab coat, nerdiest glasses, and most authoritative voice, and then
3.) say the magic words: "Important Research."
the hutch

Post by the hutch »

I AM a scientist. That's why I have no flippin free time. I do have several white coats, many with blood stains on them. Usually I just wear jeans or scrubs. But I do get to say cool things like "I am a scientist".
omphale

Post by omphale »

no pic wrote:I AM a scientist. That's why I have no flippin free time. I do have several white coats, many with blood stains on them. Usually I just wear jeans or scrubs. But I do get to say cool things like "I am a scientist".

you are my hero! i want to be just like you if i grow up!
Betty Felon

Post by Betty Felon »

why are you bloody? What kind of "Important Research" are you doing? And does it involve frankenstein? how about ping pong balls?
the hutch

Post by the hutch »